1Thing App: Be Grateful Each Day

As the year comes to a close I always take a look back to see all the things I have to be grateful for; health, loved ones and a career I love are the big ones that come to mind. But this got me thinking about the small things that I often lose sight of as the days pass by each month. I have read in several books and articles this year about different ways to bring happiness and clarity to your life and I found a reoccurring trend; be grateful for what you have, live in the moment and concentrate on the small things. So in response to this I started a tumblr that I post the three things I was grateful for that day. I have been doing this for about a month now and found it really brought me back to earth when things may have been spinning out of control, it really brought me some perspective.

This must be catching on with other because I came across an interesting mobile app that has been created by a fellow Torontoian, Ayla Newhouse, called 1Thing app. This app allows you to post up to 6 items that you are grateful for daily.

Their simple process is as follows;

1. REFLEX on the good things that exist in your day

2. SHARE your gratitude with the 1THING community (This is anonymous, see explanation in FAQ)

3. LEARN from your gratitude, so your life can be more awesome!

I have been using the mobile site on my phone for the past few days and I am really liking the ease of use and excited to see how the stats play out once I have my Gratitude journal filled with more data.

I am hoping to bring this into my daily routine (the scheduled daily reminder from the site makes this a reality) and would like to ask all of you to join me in the new year and take a moment to recognize what we have in our lives and enjoy the moment!

To learn more about 1Thing App check them out in the links below;

www.1thingapp.com

@ithingapp

Facebook

Articles:

Toronto Standard

Globe and Mail

Leave a Reply

